I’ve spend the past two days catching up with former Chicago Sun-Times and ESPN employee Jay Mariotti via Jason Whitlock’s FoxSports.com podcast.

After listening to the second part of the interview, I decided to take to Deadspin.com to see if they had any comment on Mariotti since he mildly took them to task. Lucky for me, they did.

And that something was said by one Emma Carmichael.

Since I’ve been away launching NationalFootballAuthority.com I haven’t had much of an opinion on non-football related items. Until now.

Click here for Emma’s Deadspin post.

Let me start off by saying, Ozzie Guillen telling Brandon McCarthy to throw at a Ranger batter is completely different than Brett Favre sending pictures of his dick to some sideline reporter. If Deadspin would’ve reported it back when it happened then perhaps we’re having a different conversation, but we aren’t.

It’s clear the focus of Emma’s Deadspin post is to try to paint Jay as an abuser so she can defend the company she writes for. Deadspin does look for guys in hot tubs. They want illicit pictures of athletes. That’s their schtick. They are the TMZ of sports, albeit they have some great writers, but what are they actually writing about? It seems to me that sites like Deadspin and Bleacher Report (that was a shot) are polluting the sports journalism that most of us grew up with.

I grew up in Chicago reading Mariotti every single day. He was consistently in touch with the wants and desires of the Chicago sports fan, like it or not. Whether you agreed or disagreed with what he was saying, there was no doubt we had an opinion on the subject.

On the flip side, we’re talking about an ego-maniac who lacks a sense of acceptance. The chip on his shoulder is his own doing. He sold-out as a columnist. He gave in to the temptations and pressures of television. The sense of celebrity he felt was an addiction that progressively got worse the older he got.

For being a self proclaimed open book he certainly isn’t willing to address the domestic violence issue. All he can manage to say is, “go back and read the court documents start to finish”. Well Jay, that isn’t something that’s likely to happen. Now that you’ve had six or seven months to process the events, why don’t you tell us what happened. Why allow the public to form their own opinion? Is it because the denial is so thick at this point that you aren’t sure what’s fact and what’s fiction? Or, is it because you haven’t accepted what happened and are still angry?

If I had to guess, I’d say it’s the latter. The man made a lot of great points to Jason Whitlock, but digging through the bullshit got tiresome. I don’t need a therapist to tell me the man is harboring some serious resentment to all parties involved. He clearly doesn’t think he wronged anyone.

“The only mistake I made was that I should never had been there that night”, Mariotti said.

Wow, really? I’m not sure that the action of being there required whatever action go him into trouble. What I’m saying is, the action–or actions that led to his arrest didn’t have to happen even if he was there. That’s the biggest copout I’ve heard in a while. Sounds a lot like a politician to me.

Jay Mariotti has allowed the situation and circumstance of being on TV to manipulate his brand. Yea, getting a column at 25 can’t be easy, nor can having to take sides on topics such as Pete Rose, Ozzie Guillen, Michael Jordan, or John Elway. After becoming a TV personality it seemed like his voice got unnecessarily louder and louder. Instead of being a columnist, he became a showman.

So Emma, in closing I’d like to say: Yes, Jay is a still a jackass. But pick a battle. Argue that he’s a abuser or that he’s got Deadspin all wrong. Don’t try to diminish his comments about Deadspin by calling him a domestic abuser.

They don’t go hand-in-hand.

To listen to the Whitlock’s interview with Jay Mariotti, click here for parts 1 & 2.

Follow me on Twitter:  @BearHeiser

